Grade 8 Pre-Algebra

Posted on March 26, 2019

Reminder:  Please visit the Power School parent portal to view all trimester grades.  

Tues, March 26 = wb 139-140 (#1-11, ODDS only)  +  Les 10.1-10.4 test Friday

Mon, March 25 = parent signature on graded HW p 475 + wb 137 due tomorrow  +  Les 10.1-10.4 test Friday

Fri, March 22 = parent signature on graded HW p 475 due Tuesday  +  Les 10.1-10.2 test next week (Thurs/Fri?)

Thurs, March 21 = parent signature with corrections on Ch 9 test

Wed, March 20 = textbook p 475 (#1-17, skip #5) on LL paper

Tues, March 19 = Les 9.1-9.4 test tomorrow

Mon, March 18 = wb 123 (odd #s only)  +  Les 9.1-9.4 test on Wednesday

Fri, March 15 = Lesson 9.1-9.4 test on Wednesday

Thurs, March 14 (Pi Day) = Write a pi-em (a pi poem) containing pi facts.  Use any poetry style, minimum 4 lines.  Rhyme is optional.  Write on LL paper or type on computer paper.  Be neat!  Be creative!

Wed, March 13 = review for Les 9.1-9.4 test next week

Tues, March 12 = wb 121 (odd)  +  Les 9.1-9.4 test next week

Fri, March 8 = Les 9.1-9.4 test to be announced…

Wed-Thurs, March 6-7 = review Les 9.1   +  parent signature on graded HW p 373 due Friday +  Les 9.1-9.4 test coming…

Mon-Tues, March 4-5 = finish test corrections with signature & wb 119 = both due Wed (no class on Tuesday due to Vocations Mass)

Fri, March 1 = parent signature with corrections on Ch 7 test due Tues

———————————————————————–

Pre-Algebra 8 Course Description         www.classzone.com

  • Number Sense
  • Problem Solving
  • Patterns, Functions & Algebra – expressions, equations & inequalities
  • Computation & Estimation – whole numbers, fractions, decimals, percents, ratios & integers
  • Statistics & Probability
  • Geometry
  • Measurement

Resources:

  • Textbook & Practice Workbook = Pre-Algebra, McDougal Littell Middle School, c2005
  • Website for assistance and additional practice = www.classzone.com

Required Supplies:

  • 5+ sharpened pencils with erasers
  • 12-inch ruler (with centimeter & inch markings)
  • 3-subject spiral notebook
  • Loose-leaf paper
  • Labeled Math pocket in the 8-pocket folder
  • TI-30XA scientific calculator (same model used in Grades 6-8)
  • Textbook covered with paper or Book Sox
  • Workbook protected with clear Contac paper

Grading:

  • Assessments = tests, quizzes and graded homework assignments
  • Daily homework (Monday-Thursday), class work & class participation

Homework:

  • Students write all daily assignments and upcoming test dates in their agendas.
  • All tests are to be corrected on loose-leaf paper, attached and signed by the parent/guardian. Tests should be returned to me the next day. This counts as a homework assignment.
 

St. Ambrose Catholic School

3827 Woodburn Road, Annandale, VA 22003

Phone: 703-698-7171

Fax: 703-698-7170

St. Ambrose School admits students of any race, color, and national origin.

"Christ is everything to us" – St. Ambrose